In the Indian music system there are seven main notes, namely, Sa, Re, Ga, Ma, Pa, Dha, Ni, and their collection is called ‘Saptak’. The frequency of the notes goes on increasing from ‘Sa’ to ‘Ni’. Then comes, the ‘Sa’ of the upper ‘Saptak’ at the double the frequency of the original ‘Sa’. It means that notes repeat after completion of one ‘Saptak’. The seven notes in the western music are Do, Re, Mi, Fa, So, La, Ti. The note ‘Do’ having double the original frequency comes again at the eighth place. This is the octave of western notes. Music is created by the variety in the use of these notes.

Watch Video (3:29):

A video of explaining the above activity:

This page was last modified on
25 April 2020 at 11:50